(June 25, 2018) – Tinkle Family Racing and Lorz Motorsports with driver Zachary Tinkle made the trip to the south side of Fort Wayne, Indiana Saturday for the second event of the season for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS. The series competed on the half-mile track at Baer Field Motorsports Park after the track owner and his crew did an excellent job getting the facility ready to race on Saturday, after receiving close to five inches of rain the three days prior to the event.


Zachary was continuing his season of learning new tracks at Baer Field Motorsports Park, and started his lesson with two 30 minute practice session for the series. As the day progressed, the threat of rain went away and it turned into a beautiful Northern Indiana afternoon. Zachary qualified in at 13th out of the 16 cars on hand for the event.


The 75 lap Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman event was the first feature up on the race card at Baer Field. Zachary’s plan was again to learn more about racing his late model and the track by completing all the laps and staying out of trouble. Zachary accomplished that goal again taking the checkers in 10th place without a scratch on his car.


With his 10th place finish at Baer Field and his fifth place finish in the series season opener at Mt. Lawn Speedway, Zachary sets third in Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman points after two events. Zachary is 11 points behind fellow rookie Chris Shannon, who is the series Championship and Rookie of the Year point’s leader and is only four points behind series veteran Shawn Amor in second place.

Zachary was very encouraged with his finish, “I learned a lot at Baer Field. I was so glad the weather cooperated and the track owner was able to hold our race after having so much rain during the week. I feel like I am learning each race and improving with each lap I get to turn for Lorz Motorsports.”


Zachary and the team have no time for rest as the team will race for the third week in a row this weekend. Sunday’s Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman event at Mt. Lawn Speedway is the first event of the new Triple Crown Series, which will feature three 100-lap, $2000 to win events, and a points fund that will pay the Triple Crown Champion $1000.

Next Event: Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS at Mt. Lawn Speedway on Sunday, July 1st.

About Zachary Tinkle:
Zachary Tinkle was the 2017 Central States Region (CSR) Super Cups and 2016 Rockford Speedway Wild Wednesday Super Cup Champion. Tinkle was the 2015 Illinois Super Cup State Champion for the Short Track Auto Racing Series (STARS) and 2015 Rockford Speedway National Short Track Champion for Super Cups. Rockford Speedway awarded Tinkle the “Lead, Follow, or Get Out Of My Way” award for his 2015 season. He was named 2015 Most Improved Driver and 2014 Rookie of the Year for CSR. Tinkle currently is a development driver in a pro late model for Lorz Motorsports in the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Series competing for the series championship and for Rookie of the Year honors and select JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour pro late model races.

About Lorz Motorsports:
Lorz Motorsports is a driver development team based in Midlothian, IL created by former ARCA racer Mike Lorz.  The team has fielded drivers in multiple series levels in CRA (Champion Racing Association) including current ARCA/CRA Super Series driver Austin Kunert and Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Series and JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour pro late model driver Zachary Tinkle. In 2017, the Lorz team won the Pit Crew of the Year Award. Previous successful participants in their program include NASCAR® drivers Michael Annett and Landon Cassill.

2018 will be the will be the 12th season of competition for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS that crowned its first Champion in 2006. Past Champions include Keith Sterkowitz in 2016 and 2011, Billy Hutson in 2007, Tony Dager in 2008, Charlie Hanna in 2009 and 2010, K.C. Spillers in 2012 and was the 2017 Drivers Champion, Mark Lambert in 2013, Greg Van Alst in 2014, Jason Atkinson in 2015, Eddie Van Meter in 2016 and Jason Neal was the 2017 Owners Champion.

2018 will be the eighth season of competition for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance. Past Champions with the series include 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year Erik Jones in 2011, NASCAR Xfinity Series competitor Daniel Hemric in 2012 and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competitor Cody Coughlin in 2013 and again in 2016.