Tinkle Family Racing, with driver Zachary Tinkle continued their quest to win two Late Model Championships in 2019 by competing with the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman in Sunday’s first ever Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman versus the Shadybowl Speedway Late Models Challenge at Kil-Kare Raceway, located just outside of Xenia, Ohio, just down the road from Dayton, Ohio, were tragedy stuck Saturday night with the mass shooting.


The team competed in Thursday evenings open practice at Kil-Kare so Zachary and the crew could get laps on a new track prior to Sunday’s event. The crew had a very competitive car in both of Sunday’s practice sessions, against one of the toughest fields of Late Model Sportsman ever fielded by CRA. Zachary qualified fifth out of the 22 cars on hand and would start fourth in the 75-lap feature event.


The racing was fast and furious from the drop of the green flag until the end of the race on the tricky 3/8’s mile oval. Zachary was competing hard for a top five position when contact between Zachary and another driver he was racing with for position, resulted in Zachary spinning and bringing out a yellow flag.

Zachary did not let that set back slow him down. At the drop of the green flag he immediately started his battle back to the front. Zachary survived several cautions and one red flag in the event to come back and get a fifth-place finish, the highest finisher of the regular series drivers. Every driver who finished ahead of Zachary had much more experience and were drivers who normally race in the ARCA/CRA Super Series or the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour and had raced at Kil-Kare before such as winner Justin Alsip, second Logan Runyon, third Brandon Oakley and fourth Chad Pendleton. Zachary was awarded the KRJ Race Products Sweet Move of the Race Award for his charge through the field to get a top five finish.

“The competition was tough at Kil-Kare Raceway in the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman race – considering the talent in this race, we’re happy with our Top 5 finish.” remarked Zachary. “This was a FUN track to drive. I want to personally thank Dr. John Mitakides for his support and coming by. A cloud over the day was the mass shooting in nearby Dayton the night before. Dr. John was in the hospital working with victims when it happened and had to go back race day to continue to help. Thank you to the track and CRA for honoring the victims and collecting donations for this tragedy.”

Zachary donated his earnings from Sunday’s race to the Dayton shooting victim’s families.

Next Event: Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Series Triple Crown 100 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 17th.

About Zachary Tinkle:

In his 2018 rookie season in the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman series, Zachary Tinkle was named PGG Sportsman of the Year and voted Most Popular Driver; finishing 5th in the championship. He was the 2017 Central States Region (CSR) Super Cups and 2016 Rockford Speedway Wild Wednesday Super Cup Champion. In 2015, Tinkle was the Illinois Super Cup State Champion for the Short Track Auto Racing Series (STARS), Rockford Speedway National Short Track Champion for Super Cups, awarded the Rockford Speedway “Lead, Follow, or Get Out Of My Way” award and Most Improved Driver for CSR Super Cups. For 2014, he was Rookie of the Year for CSR. Tinkle currently races a pro late model in the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Series competing for the series championship and in the McGunegill Engines Late Model series at Anderson Speedway.

About the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS:

2019 will be the will be the 13th season of competition for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS that crowned its first Champion in 2006. Past Champions include Keith Sterkowitz in 2016 and 2011, Billy Hutson in 2007, Tony Dager in 2008, Charlie Hanna in 2009 and 2010, K.C. Spillers in 2012 and was the 2017 Drivers Champion, Mark Lambert in 2013, Greg Van Alst in 2014, Jason Atkinson in 2015, Eddie Van Meter in 2016, Jason Neal was the 2017 Owners Champion, Tony Brutti was the 2018 series Champion.